On behalf of the Australian Society for Antimicrobials, I would like to invite you to the Society's 21st Annual Scientific Meeting, "Antimicrobials 2020", to be held at the Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre, Melbourne, on Thursday 27th to Saturday 29th February 2020.

I am pleased to announce that Nick Daneman, The University of Toronto, Canada; Eric Pamer, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, USA; and Deborah Williamson, The University of Melbourne, Australia will be participating at the meeting. Nick will be presenting the plenary "Optimising Treatment and Preventing Healthcare Associated Infections", Eric will be presenting "How Antibiotics Disrupt the GI Tract", and Deborah will be presenting the plenary "Antimicrobial Resistance Outside the Hospital". 

The 2020 Howard Florey Oration will be delivered by Lindsay Grayson from Austin Health, Victoria.

The programme's symposia cover many different aspects of antimicrobials and sessions include "AMR Surveillance", "IV Drug Use", "Critiquing the Guidelines", "Non-Antimicrobial Approaches or Treatments", "The Importance of Laboratory Detection" and "Multiplex Platforms - More Answers than Questions". In addition, we will have two pharmacy symposia, titled "The Bugs and Drugs" and "The Drugs". Two literature review sessions will also be presented, including "The Year in Clinical Microbiology" and "The Year in Therapeutics". Six proffered papers and two poster sessions are also planned for the meeting.

To promote discussion and interaction between delegates and the invited speakers, the meeting's registration includes lunches, morning and afternoon teas and admission to the Howard Florey Dinner.

I am confident that you will find the meeting's program both scientifically stimulating and informative and we look forward to meeting you in Melbourne.

Ben Howden
President ASA


The University of Toronto

The University of Chicago
United States

The University of Melbourne


Adrian Towse
Office of Health Economics
United Kingdom


Australian Society for Antimicrobials

Since becoming an Incorporated Society in March 1999, ASA membership now covers a diverse background of professions interested in the study of antimicrobials including clinical microbiologists and infectious diseases physicians, respiratory and ICU physicians, medical and non-medical microbiologists, and scientists.


Abstract Submission Deadline
Friday, 13 December 2019

Early Bird Registration Deadline
Friday, 10 January 2020

Abstract Notification Deadline
Friday 20 December 2019

Accommodation Booking Deadline
Friday, 24 January 2020